And the ADVENTURE begins…

Today I begin the blog of our Adventure Travels~ Around the World in 296 days (42 weeks).
Nothing, absolutely nothing, about getting out the door for this trip has been easy, not even finding a quote that I was so certain of. I wanted to begin this blog with the familiar Lao-Tzu quote, “A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.” I looked it up to be sure of its source. This is what I found instead…

“The journey of a thousand miles begins beneath one’s feet.” Rather than emphasizing the first step, Lau Tzu regarded action as something that arises naturally from stillness. Another potential phrasing would be “Even the longest journey must begin where you stand.” [note by Michael Moncur, September 01, 2004]. ” (from www.thequotationspage.com)

All I wanted was to be sure I spelled Lao-Tzu correctly, (I did; they didn’t) and I learned that it is the stillness he valued more so than the action. I will use that as the excuse for starting the blog four days into the trip…I was in stillness for the first three days, quiet, thoughtful and contemplative…yeah, that’s it.
So, here’s the plan for the trip … heavy emphasis on PLAN. We will follow a southerly route as we travel across the US our 1986 Toyota Dolphin motor home and park it in Florida in early March, 2011. From there we put packs on our backs and head out of the country. First stop: Nassau, Bahamas and the Sivananda Yoga Vedanta Center. Then Panama, Uruguay, New Zealand/Australia, Thailand, Europe and back to the US to follow a northerly path back home. All of this is loosely scheduled and we have left plenty of time open for diversions from the intended path.
I am looking forward to checking in family and friends as well as CCA’s students and graduates around the world, namely: Jaime in Thailand, Edie in Ireland, Dania in Albuquerque…and many more.  It is astounding where I can travel and still be in touch with my friends and colleagues! That said, if you’d like us to come visit you, send me an email at MBMTontheroad@gmail.com. Or, if you know of a must-see sight, such as the Mystery Spot in Santa Cruz or the Spiral Staircase in the Loretto Chapel in Santa Fe, NM, give us a holler.
Day one included a quick good-bye to my brother, Dave and a trip to visit my brother, Jerry, and his wife, Anne in Milpitas, California. While we’re in the US, we’ll never travel more than 200 miles per day and will be open to plenty of side trips and roadside attractions. These and more will be the subjects of this blog…hope you enjoy traveling along with us as we look for the answers to life, the universe and everything…

MT on the road

About Ayurvedic Approach

We are a family traveling for ten months across the US and around the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And the ADVENTURE begins…

  1. jaime says:

    You guys are SO awesome!!!!! What an incredible adventure to share with each other and with all of us. Thailand is so excited to see you next year and so am I!!!!!!! Have a magical and glorious trip, and say hello to America for me. Love you guys!!!!! xoxoxojaime

Leave a Reply

