Air Boat Ride, Florida

Hi Everyone! We left Puerto Rico on Feb 28 and on March 6 went to the Bahamas. Between those two dates we got haircuts (yes, even me!) and visited many, many sites in Florida including the Kennedy Space Center. The pictures were excellent and I did the unspeakable and unforgiveable act of removing the chip from the computer before the photo transfer was complete. (It was a complete and total accident. I thought the machine was hibernating, but it WASN’T) Now I know…this is a bad, very bad thing to do. The pictures are still on the chip but they are non-retrievable. The computer couldn’t do it, the camera couldn’t do it, the iPad couldn’t do it…if only we had the MacBook here, maybe it could do it. I will save the chip and maybe when I get home we can access the pics. If not, well, I guess you had to be there…

After I gave up on the chip, I purchased a new one. (And made a decision to buy a new, better camera before going to South America)(14 mp! 10x zoom! Nikon!). Right after buying the chip we took an Air Boat Ride. This is the first glimpse of the Air Boat and Cap’n Johnny.

This is a picture of a young bald eagle flying off with his lunch…Nope, sorry, it flew out of frame. This is Cap’n Johnny on the Left and Michael on the Right. This was my view for most of the trip.

Now we’re taking a turn…

Keegan liked the wind in his face.

Our first ‘gator sighting!

And then you know what happened…it started to rain! Buckets! Torrents! The rain pelted us and felt like icy needles on our faces as we raced back to the dock while huddling under the seat covers. All wildlife had retreated to more temperate climates. This is the last picture of the day taken when I saw the storm heading our way but before it could do any damage to the camera. We did get some $$ back and decided that a 60 minute airboat ride was plenty.

Overall, it was fun, exciting and, well, wet. I pretended we were Bud and Sandy out with our dad, the ranger, riding out to find Flipper. Sure, it wasn’t the Everglades, I did have to fill in the blanks.

Life lesson: You can’t outrun the weather. (At least we sure can’t) The best you can hope for is to have fun in spite of the downpour. Because, trust me, there will be downpours.

 

About Ayurvedic Approach

We are a family traveling for ten months across the US and around the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Air Boat Ride, Florida

  1. Sharon Miller says:

    Talk about synchronicity….I just came across an email from my cousin from April, 2008 and he wrote, “Life isn’t about how to survive the storm, but how to dance in the rain.” That is definitely what you are all doing. Thank you for taking me along for the ride.

Leave a Reply

